top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture#UnseenOnScreen

"She belittled me and snapped if I wasn't filming in exactly the place she had in mind."

I had the horrible experience of being picked on by an exec. She often gave more responsibility to the male crew, even a guy who was seven years younger than me and far less experienced. She tried to exchange my role with another person who was younger and less experienced, simply because I had taken the initiative to frame out a sound recordist in a mirror (moving from my designated spot).


She belittled me and snapped if I wasn't filming in exactly the place she had in mind (often without communicating that) and I thought at that time that it was just a usual TV work attitude. I even considered that this might not the industry for me. Thankfully the rest of the crew were lovely and the male producer directors noticed her attitude towards me and felt bad (which made me realise I wasn't mad to feel targeted). It hasn't happened since but it made me sad that that some women in the industry don't support other women.


Thankfully, others have been very supportive since. It would be great to have a HR person or a mental health professional to listen and take action in these cases. I hope whoever reads this finds some solace having read a similar story.

440 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page