top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture#UnseenOnScreen

"I would receive abusive text messages and voicemails telling me I was doing a terrible job"

I experienced verbal and psychological abuse from my boss whilst working as a researcher. It would happen in person, on the phone, via email and text messages.

I was left in charge of an entire production to cast, organise shoots, manage budget etc. Essentially everything other than film or edit the actual show. At the same time, I was across multiple development projects.


I would receive abusive text messages, emails and voicemails telling me I was doing a terrible job, accusing me of deleting documents, screaming at me for not completing things. I would get yelled at when I asked for help on tasks or tried to raise concerns.

I started having panic attacks at work, stopped sleeping and have been dealing with generalised anxiety disorder ever since. There was only one HR person in the umbrella company, I tried to arrange a time to speak with them but they were never available.


I’ve since learnt that a number of people who have worked for this person have had similar experiences and dropped out of productions due to not feeling safe on shoots or being treated badly.

324 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page